Books, Holidays, Series

Must Read New Releases Winter 2017-2018

So here’s the thing about the winter months. It’s the perfect time to sit in your sofa, covered in blankets, and read. Whether that’s in the run-up to Christmas, to recover from the business of it… Or even to hang on to those last slivers of cosiness when the winter seems endless? Reading’s where it’s at. And luckily, there are some pretty amazing new releases winter 2017-2018 coming our way!

1. Love, Life, and the List, Kasie West


“Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned. She has a not-so-secret but definitely unrequited crush on her best friend, Cooper. She hasn’t been able to manage her mother’s growing issues with anxiety. And now she’s been rejected from an art show because her work “has no heart.” So when she gets another opportunity to show her paintings Abby isn’t going to take any chances.

Which is where the list comes in.

Abby gives herself one month to do ten things, ranging from face a fear (#3) to learn a stranger’s story (#5) to fall in love (#8). She knows that if she can complete the list she’ll become the kind of artist she’s always dreamed of being. But as the deadline approaches, Abby realizes that getting through the list isn’t as straightforward as it seems… and that maybe—just maybe—she can’t change her art if she isn’t first willing to change herself.”

I’ve really liked everything I read by Kasie West so far, so I’m basically just looking forward to seeing exactly what this one might hold!

(To be published 26th December 2017, you can pre-order it here)

2. This Could Change Everything, Jill Mansell

“If only Essie hadn’t written that letter – the one that went viral…

THIS COULD CHANGE EVERYTHING is the feel-good new novel from Jill Mansell, the bestselling author of MEET ME AT BEACHCOMBER BAY. Not to be missed by fans of Katie Fforde and Lucy Diamond.

On the one hand, if Essie hadn’t written that letter – the one that only her best friend was meant to see – then she’d still be living like an actual proper grown-up, tucked up with Paul in his picture-perfect cottage, maybe even planning their wedding…

On the other hand (if her true feelings hadn’t accidentally taken the internet by storm, that is) she never would have met Zillah and Conor – not to mention Lucas. And she’d never have found out just how much life there is to be lived…”

I’d say most of you know by now that I love both Cathy Kelly and Jill Mansell, so I’m pretty excited about this. Now if only there was also a new Cathy Kelly coming out soon…

(To be published 15th January 2018; you can pre-order it here)

3. Still Me, Jojo Moyes

“From the sensational #1 New York Times bestselling author Jojo Moyes, a new book featuring her iconic heroine of Me Before You and After You, Louisa Clark

Louisa Clark arrives in New York ready to start a new life, confident that she can embrace this new adventure and keep her relationship with Ambulance Sam alive across several thousand miles. She is thrown into the world of the superrich Gopniks: Leonard and his much younger second wife, Agnes, and a never-ending array of household staff and hangers-on. Lou is determined to get the most out of the experience and throws herself into her job and New York life within this privileged world.

Before she knows what’s happening, Lou is mixing in New York high society, where she meets Joshua Ryan, a man who brings with him a whisper of her past. In Still Me, as Lou tries to keep the two sides of her world together, she finds herself carrying secrets–not all her own–that cause a catastrophic change in her circumstances. And when matters come to a head, she has to ask herself Who is Louisa Clark? And how do you reconcile a heart that lives in two places?”

I mean, I’m going to be honest here. From the description? I’m honestly not sure whether I’m going to like this one. Plus, I almost forgot what After You was even about. That being said? Still going to read this. I distinctly remember feeling that I needed more after the second book. And that’s exactly what this book promises! (Plus, every winter needs at least one cry-book, right?)

(To be published 30th January 2018; you can pre-order it here)

4. Meet Cute: Some People Are Destined to Meet, Jennifer L. Armentrout


“Whether or not you believe in fate, or luck, or love at first sight, every romance has to start somewhere. MEET CUTE is an anthology of original short stories featuring tales of “how they first met” from some of today’s most popular YA authors.

Readers will experience Nina LaCour’s beautifully written piece about two Bay Area girls meeting via a cranky customer service Tweet, Sara Shepard’s glossy tale about a magazine intern and a young rock star, Nicola Yoon’s imaginative take on break-ups and make-ups, Katie Cotugno’s story of two teens hiding out from the police at a house party, and Huntley Fitzpatrick’s charming love story that begins over iced teas at a diner.

There’s futuristic flirting from Kass Morgan and Katharine McGee, a riveting transgender heroine from Meredith Russo, a subway missed connection moment from Jocelyn Davies, and a girl determined to get out of her small town from Ibi Zoboi. Jennifer Armentrout writes a sweet story about finding love from a missing library book, Emery Lord has a heartwarming and funny tale of two girls stuck in an airport, Dhonielle Clayton takes a thoughtful, speculate approach to pre-destined love, and Julie Murphy dreams up a fun twist on reality dating show contestants.

This incredibly talented group of authors brings us a collection of stories that are at turns romantic and witty, epic and everyday, heartbreaking and real.”

Look, I’ve been hooked on the idea of the meet-cute ever since I heard it explained in The Holiday. And I’ve been meaning to read more short-stories,. So this is basically the answer to all I wanted, in that aspect!

(To be published 2nd January, 2018; you can pre-order it here)

5. Love, Hate & Other Filters, Samira Ahmed


“A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a “suitable” Muslim boy), and the one where she goes to film school in New York City–and maybe, just maybe, kisses a guy she’s only known from afar. There’s the also the fun stuff, like laughing with her best friend Violet, making on-the-spot documentaries, sneaking away for private swimming lessons at a secret pond in the woods. But her world is shattered when a suicide bomber strikes in the American heartland; by chance, he shares Maya’s last name. What happens to the one Muslim family in town when their community is suddenly consumed with hatred and fear?”

Let’s be real. This kind of sounds like a must-read, doesn’t it? Or at least, the type of story one should read. And support. And also – just like a great read!

(To be published 16th January, 2018; you can pre-order it here)

6. The Wedding Date, Jasmine Guillory


A groomsman and his last-minute guest are about to discover if a fake date can go the distance in a fun and flirty debut novel.

Agreeing to go to a wedding with a guy she gets stuck with in an elevator is something Alexa Monroe wouldn’t normally do. But there’s something about Drew Nichols that’s too hard to resist.

On the eve of his ex’s wedding festivities, Drew is minus a plus one. Until a power outage strands him with the perfect candidate for a fake girlfriend…

After Alexa and Drew have more fun than they ever thought possible, Drew has to fly back to Los Angeles and his job as a pediatric surgeon, and Alexa heads home to Berkeley, where she’s the mayor’s chief of staff. Too bad they can’t stop thinking about the other…

They’re just two high-powered professionals on a collision course toward the long distance dating disaster of the century–or closing the gap between what they think they need and what they truly want…

Did I first click on this because it reminds me a lot of a certain movie? You know, the one with a very similar plot and the exat same title? Absolutely. But, also. I just really like these types of stories. Obviously 🙂

(To be published 30th January 2018, you can pre-order it here)

Undoubtedly, there will be many more books I want to read as soon as they are announced. And even more undoubtedly, I’ll not read some of these. Or at least not as soon as I want to. But for now? These are the ones on my list! What books coming out this winter are you most looking forward to? Be sure to let me know below!

And if you want to check out the rest of my blog-mas posts? Be sure to go check out the tag!

-Saar